Kaduna : APC Wins Kagarko Rerun Election  

Kaduna : APC Wins Kagarko Constituency Rerun Election
By Femi Adi
The Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, has declared
the candidate of All Progressives Congress, (APC) Honorable Nuhu Giroh Shadalafiya winner of the rerun elections in Kagarko Constituency of Kaduna State.

Goroh Shadalafiya ,who is the former Deputy Speaker ,Kaduna State House of Assembly polled 24,658 votes after the collated results were merged with INEC’s saved results to defeat the , Morondia Tanko of Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, who scored 20,206 votes .

The Local government collation and Returning Officer, Dr. Haruna Aminu said Shadalafiya won the election , having satisfied the law and scored the highest number of votes, is hereby declared winner and is returned elected.”

Earlier, the court of Appeal had ordered for a rerun in 22 units of three wards in Kagarko constituency following a suit by Mr. Nuhu Shadalafiya of the All Progressives Congress (APC) who had challenged the victory of Mr . Morondia Tanko of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in the 9th March election.

The Appeal Court in Kaduna on Tuesday, 19 November, affirmed the judgement of the Election Tribunal and dismissed appeal of the People’s Democratic Party ,(PDP)member representing Kagarko Constituency in the Kaduna State House of Assembly ,Hon. Morondia Tanko ,who challenged the lower court’s judgement .

Daily NewsTime Nigeria (DTNN) reporter , who covered the rerun election across the three wards in Kagarko said it was peaceful .
Some of electorate that spoke after casting their votes expressed joy over the smooth process of the election .

It was gathered that the sensitive and non sensitive materials arrived polling units as expected, and that electorates conducted themselves peacefully.
The Presiding Officer, P. O; Sawanno polling unit, Oyebanji Oyewale Samson disclosed that all sensitive materials arrived at the his unit at exactly 10:00 am, while voting exercise commenced immediately voters were sensitized.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here